NH Democratic Party Announces Delegates to the 2020 National Convention

Print More


The Fiserv Forum in Milwaukee, Wisconsin will be the site of the 2020 Democratic National Convention July 13 to 16.

On Thursday, following a record turnout in the New Hampshire Democratic Presidential Primary, the New Hampshire Democratic Party announced the District-Level Delegate slate for the 2020 Democratic National Convention. 

NHDP Chair Ray Buckley released the following statement:

“The grassroots chooses our convention delegates, and I’m thrilled that such a diverse group of engaged activists will be joining us in Milwaukee this summer,” said New Hampshire Democratic Party Chair Ray Buckley. ”These delegates not only will play an important role in nominating the next president of the United States, but will also be instrumental in organizing their communities to re-elect Senator Shaheen, Congresswoman Kuster, Congressman Pappas, defeating Chris Sununu, and growing our state legislative and executive council majorities.”

The New Hampshire Democratic Party and the DNC Delegate Selection Rules determined the allocation of the District-Level Delegates based on the results in each congressional district. Senator Bernie Sanders was awarded 6 District-Level Delegates. Mayor Pete Buttigieg was awarded 6 District-Level Delegates. Senator Amy Klobuchar was awarded 4 District-Level Delegates. 

Congressional District 1

Senator Bernie Sanders

Suraj Budathoki – Manchester 
Mo Baxley – Laconia 
Chris Liquori – Portsmouth
Mayor Pete Buttigieg
Shanika Amarakoon – Portsmouth
Alec Momenee-Duprie – Newfields 
Giovanna Komst – Londonderry
Senator Amy Klobuchar
Charles Knox – North Hampton
Erica de Vries – Hampton
Congressional District 2

Senator Bernie Sanders
Heather Stockwell – Dublin
Sebastian Fuentes – Thornton 
Krishna Desai – Hanover
Mayor Pete Buttigieg
Johnnie Christensen – Canaan
Kathleen O’Donnell – Keene
Alan Baker – Columbia
Senator Amy Klobuchar
Patricia McMahon – North Sutton 
Michael Atkins – Lyndeborough
Additional Background On This Year’s Delegate Selection Process: In order to be awarded delegates in New Hampshire, a candidate must have earned at least 15% of the primary vote in a congressional district.
 At the 2020 Democratic National Convention, the New Hampshire Democratic Party will have 33 delegates and 2 alternates. 16 of the 33 total delegates were elected by grassroots activists at January 25th’s district-level caucuses.
 New Hampshire’s final slate of District-Level Delegates elect the remaining 8 “Party Leader and Elected Official” and “At-Large” Delegates in April.
 There are also 9 Automatic Delegates. These Automatic Delegates do not vote on the first ballot at the Democratic National Convention.
 This year’s delegation is shaping up to be one of the most diverse in the state’s history. Of note, our delegation currently includes New Hampshire’s first openly transgender delegate.
 Also of note, 13 of the 16 District-Level Delegates are first time delegates.

Comments are closed.